DAR Genealogy Course

I’ve been asked by my local DAR chapter to join the Volunteer Genealogist Committee.

My first question:  Do you think I’m ready to help others??  Response from the Registrar: You are more prepared than just about any other member and you don’t even have any courses completed.

My second question:  What courses are you talking about??  Response:  DAR offers 3 online courses for members to train committee members (or any member) to help prospective members complete their paperwork.  You would also be helping other members add patriots to their membership.

So on Friday night, I began looking into completing the courses.  There are 3 “required” courses if you want to be considered a Volunteer Genealogist.  Saturday morning I registered for course#1.  There were 7 lessons and a quiz at the end of each lesson.  Passing the lesson requires a score of 9/10 on the quiz – and many of the quiz questions require you to analyze a document written in the 1700’s or 1800’s.

Sunday afternoon saw the completion of course 1!!!  I was surprised how much I knew – I’ve never taken a genealogy related course before.  My hubby says I’m good at researching anything and that I pay attention to details.  Guess that trait has paid off.

Now I wait patiently for the second course to be available!

Let’s see where this committee position takes me!

DAR course 1 completion pic

 

 

Leave a Reply

