Marriage Record – John Hill and Eva Huff

This is one of the documents I needed to submit with my mother-in-law’s application to DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution).  John A. Hill and Eva Huff are His 2x-Great-Grandparents.

If you look closely at record #368, you will notice that John A. Hill’s name is Jno Huff in the second part of the document.  Now I know that Jno can mean John, but it usually means Jonathan.  (I mean, really, how hard would it be to write John vs Jno??)  His last name gets changed in the process as well – Hill becomes Huff.

Another inconsistency is in the name of the wife – Eva Huff becomes Eva Hough.

Thankfully, I have death certificates for both John and Eva.  They name each other as spouse.  Eva’s death certificate names her father as Townsend B. Huff.  I’m hopeful that DAR will accept this!  I can hear them now – but how do you know this Eva Hough is the same Eva Huff you are related to???

No wonder I had such a hard time finding this using search engines!!  Remember that alternate spellings have an interesting way of showing up – even in a single document.

hill-huff-marriage-record-2

Leave a Reply

