Saturday Night Genealogy Fun – A Family’s Increase

Idea courtesy of Genea-Musings:

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun — A Family’s Increase

Hey genea-folks, it’s Saturday Night again, time for more Genealogy Fun!

Your mission this week, should you decide to accept it, is to:

1) Pick one of your sets of great-grandparents – if possible, the one with the most descendants.

2) Create a descendants list for those great-grandparents either by hand or in your software program.

3) Tell us how many descendants, living or dead, are in each generation from those great-grandparents.

4) How many are still living? Of those, how many have you met and exchanged family information with? Are there any that you should make contact with ASAP? Please don’t use last names of living people for this – respect their privacy.

5) Write about it in your own blog post, in comments to this post, or in comments or a Note on Facebook.

1) So I tweaked it a little and did all my great-grandparents and hubby’s maternal great-grandparents and his paternal grandparents:

Harry Fetherkile (1884-1980) and Lottie Smith (1887-1926)
William Gott (1880-1944) and Mary Squires (1891-1974) – I only included the issue from this relationship, not their other marriages and children.
August Peterson (1868-1950) and Anna Simonson (1880-1963)
John Vernak ?? and Mary ?? Not sure about these names – multiple posts issues!

Christian Petersen (1874-1953) and Jennie Mattson (1878-1925)
Alfred Farley (1874-1962) and Lurena Hill (1881-1965)
Marko Matulic (1890-1979) and Marga Gospodnetic (1896-1974)

2) I made a Descendants List report in Family Tree 2014.1.  Then I counted for each generation.  I made a spreadsheet using Google Sheets to keep track of the info.

3) Their descendants, that I am aware of, by generation:

4) So the increase is at least 14 persons and up to 61 for each line, and probably more.  There are some who may have reproduced since the last family update.  There are branches, because of location and drama, that are incomplete.

Of the 120ish descendants for my side, 94 are still alive!!  I have met/known 95 of the descendants from my great-grandparents.  Most of those I have not met live in another area of the country and are of a later generation.  My Vernak line is also questionable – I’ll leave the details to a future post!

On hubby’s side, there are about 126 descendants with 109 still alive.  He has met/known 77 of his great-grandparents/grandparents descendants.  His paternal grandparents were immigrants and we, at this time, don’t know how many siblings they had, how many descendants are still living in Croatia.  We know of one small incomplete branch but that is it.

Interesting exercise – I realize I need to reach out to living relatives.

 

Leave a comment